HoydenSeek’s Weblog

hoy·den: a boisterous, bold, and carefree girl; a tomboy + seek: to go in search or quest of

Women’s Health Mag & Barley Salad September 6, 2008

Filed under: Books & Mags,Food,Health & Beauty — suzanne turner @ 2:41 pm

When I was at the airport in Seattle coming home from Aaron & Brenda’s Lovefest, I picked up a couple mags for the flight. Shape, and Women’s Health. First I started flipping through the Shape, and it took a while to get past the ads to any meat. The articles were mainly about products, clothes and accessories, just like any other superficial women’s mag. There wasn’t much solid advice on food or exercise, and I was getting a little bummed and felt ripped off. I could have just bought Cosmo- at least that would have had some juicy stuff too. I’m so glad I also bought Women’s Health! It was everything I had wanted: tons of exercise stuff, interesting news and studies, food and recipes I tried and love, and sultry tidbits similar to those you might find in Men’s Health. It was so awesome and refreshing, and I’m so glad I got it. If I had just grabbed Shape, I would surely be bitter. But I plan to subscribe now to Women’s Health. AND they have a great website where you can grab recipes and stuff you missed! I wish it came out weekly. 🙂

One of the recipes that is now in my regular rotation is a barley salad, a sort of variation on Tabbouleh. I ate it so many days in a row, I had to give it a rest for a little while. Eveyone who tasted it loved it too. I can’t seem to find the recipe right now, but when I do, I’ll update you with it. But now that I’ve made it, I kind of just wing it anyway. It’s cooked barley, lemon juice, parsley, green onions, chopped greens, chopped hazelnuts, olive oil, salt, pepper. I tried walnuts and it was still good, but hazelnuts are better. I love parsley, so I could eat this everyday. I love chopping everything for this, and it is so hearty for a salad- it’s a one bowl dinner. Plus the cooked barley makes this a warm salad which is a nice change. Although it definitely makes a delicious snack right out of the fridge the next day.

 

2 Responses to “Women’s Health Mag & Barley Salad”

  1. hoydenseek Says:

    Wow, thanks Helper!!! 🙂


Leave a Reply

