HoydenSeek’s Weblog

hoy·den: a boisterous, bold, and carefree girl; a tomboy + seek: to go in search or quest of

Why facebook is so cool September 6, 2008

Filed under: Family & Friends — suzanne turner @ 12:52 pm

One of the best things about living in a new place is getting to meet new friends. One of the hard things about seasonal work is that you leave these cool people you met, but I’m so excited a lot of the people I met are on facebook. Its so great that we live in a time where so many people have access to this kind of connection. I love staying in touch with people I have met, even if it is just being able to see pictures of what they’re up to. We don’t all always have time to say the things we want to, but just being able to- whether its in a bulletin, comment, or message- is such a great thing. Especially now when weddings, babies, travels, and all sorts of other things are going on with everyone. It’s hard to keep up, but I’m so grateful that so many of my friends are really good about posting pictures and updates on what’s going on in their lives. It’s so great to see people happy and doing their thing.

Plus Facebook has kept me connected to people back home while I’ve been here. I get to play games and IM people, and see what they’ve been up to. A lot of people who can’t seem to drag themselves to myspace are finally seeing that facebook is a good alternative. It keeps your info private and doesn’t let in people who don’t know you. It also really is a great tool for networking. I’m realizing I probably should have been closer and kept in touch with more people I went to school with. I really am glad to keep in touch with teachers who I still consider mentors. There were so many cool instructors at the Art Institute. I’m glad to still have their advice and insight at my fingertips.

 

Leave a Reply

