HoydenSeek’s Weblog

hoy·den: a boisterous, bold, and carefree girl; a tomboy + seek: to go in search or quest of

New food finds, secrets and switcheroos May 27, 2008

Filed under: Food,Health & Beauty — suzanne turner @ 6:08 pm

Sometimes the simplest answer is the best, but you’d never think of it. Yesterday at work, someone brought popsicles which was weird but cool. And I really wanted one, but I’ve been really good about cutting the extra, refined sugars and so I resisted. I also started thinking about a healthy alternative, because finding a substitute really helps you feel satisfied. A really good site for that I found is hungrygirl.com. I really like that one because she develops ingenious substitutes all the time. While I’m thinking about it, the other sites I’m loving right now are happyfoody.com and the post punk kitchen (theppk.com). Really great recipes! Anyway, the popsicles- when I got home, I decided to try the simplest thing I could think of and it worked. I already had some frozen mango and strawberries in the freezer waiting for smoothie time. Instead of trying to make frozen yogurt sorbet like I did a couple weeks ago (which wasn’t bad either but takes longer) I just took a few chunks of mango out of the bag and threw them in a bowl & sucked on them like a popsicle piece. Totally satisfying, refreshing and sweet just as they are! They last longer and aren’t messy either. 🙂 Another tip I read in a magazine from some celeb is to freeze grapes and suck on those instead of dessert. To me, fruit is dessert. Strawberries need no more sugar than nature gives them. Neither does anything else. A baked apple with just cinnamon is awesome. Figs, dates, raisins- they have sugar but a decent kind. You only need a few to satisfy that sweet tooth. I really don’t have a huge sweet tooth to begin with, so that’s easy. I used order onion rings at Dairy Queen. 🙂 Hmmm, I’m sure there’s a substitute I can come up with for that, or just make it my cheat meal for the week. Damn Twisted Fish- it’s so goood. But this reminds me: eating small meals all throughout the day is really helping me not overeat, and avoid bad stuff. I used to go in a cycle of nothing for hours, then I’m starving let’s hit the drive-thru fast! So now, I never get overly hungry and cranky and so I don’t crave terrible things. Well, it’s going to take vigilence and effort to keep up on it. I had one slip up at Twisted Fish, which was my cheat meal, but I want to cut out even the cheat meal, or make it just one cheat item or so a week. I know what happened: I was very hungry when I got home from work, so I probably hadn’t had enough to eat that afternoon. Then we waited a bit for people to get ready and decide where to go. Then they seated us pretty quickly which was suprising because it was a busy Friday night at the docks. But then, I got shakier and crankier as they took no less than 30 minutes to bring us any food. By the time I even ordered, I went straight for the onion rings, halibut sliders again- which come with curly fries and, tartar and watermelon. THEN Joel and I had dessert. Instead of sharing, we EACH had a Turtle pie thing. Then we both felt gross. Same thing a few nights later. Waited too long, walked around trying to pick a place, settled on Canton House. I love Asian food, but Asian food out always sounds like a good idea, but the MSG or whatever chemicals and crap they use makes me unbelievable bloaty and fat feeling. So I really have to make sure to get enough protein, carbs, and water steadily so that my mind doesn’t go to the bad stuff. We decided if we go out here, we should just go to Subway, and most nights we should just make something at home. When I want chips, I have a few Terra chips- they are exotic vegetable chips baked with olive oil. I also found Annie’s Sour Cream & Onion, or Cheddar Bunnies. These are awesome for little snacks. Then there’s Pirate’s Booty, Pirate’s Cannonballs, and Veggies Booty. Instead of having salsa with chips, I eat a chunky salsa with a spoon or fork. When I want something hot and buttery, I have edamame in shells, just like Kim & I would share on sushi nights. Or baked sweet potato chunks with a little olive oil, paprika, cayenne pepper and seasoned salt and pepper. Soooo amazing.

The new veggies I’m going to grab next grocery trip are acorn squash, lima beans, and maybe an eggplant. I haven’t had good luck with eggplant or tofu in the past, but I’m not quite ready to give up yet. I’m also going crazy with making my own marinades and salad dressings. Olive oil and balsamic vinegar are new must-haves for my Meditteranean diet kick.

I was considering doing the “master cleanse” I’ve read about for a few days. That is where you make a lemon-water drink and add organic grade B maple syrup, and cayenne pepper. Then you have nothing but that concoction for a number of days. The more I read about it, the more I’m inclined to change my mind. I may do it for a day or two, but not 7-10 like they suggest. It’s not a diet, but a detox process. The idea is to give your system a break from digestion in which the systems cleans out and resets. I know that fasting a day or two now and then is very good for the body, but then on the third day, I will be adding yogurt and smoothies. I want to keep good bacteria and I think you need some protein too. I don’t think I have too much that needs serious detox. I haven’t had beef but a few times in the last few years, which is the main colon culprit. I avoid processed foods and sugars and stopped absolutely all soda about a month ago. I used to only have soda when I went out, but now I just have water. I don’t really miss it. And if I do want it, it’s never laying around for me to grab because I don’t buy it. If I need caffeine I have green tea. I have learned to love pomegranate juice, and green superfood smoothies. Joel got me an awesome aluminum sigg bottle which fits right on my purse caribeaner and goes with me everywhere. So as long as I drink enough water, and get protein, good carbs, and exercise, I’m doing fine. I’m glad I discovered the organic grade B maple syrup though. It is absolutely delicious- smoky, woody, sweet. It has a lot of vitamins and minerals. I love it.

After cutting the soda, I had to cut the duck farts out. Sad but true. I was enjoying a little “dessert” here and there when I first got here. It’s the true Alaskan drink and it combines all my favorite liquors: Baileys, Kahlua, and Crown. It’s creamy, choclatey and delicious. It’s like a white russian which I also love, but am not indulging in either. Then Robbie, one of our roommates here introduced me to the brave bull, a mixture of Tequila and Kahlua. Intersting indeed. It tastes like… Kahlua and tequila. Strange. But I’m not having any more. Major calories sneak onto the belly through drinks. I’ll only have a duck fart when at the Red Onion in Skagway, I’ve decided, which may be a while. Now about once a week I have a shot of port, slowly enjoyed with a square of 70% cacao dark chocolate. Very nice. Also, I break off the square, and put the rest of the bar away right away so its not sitting in front of me. Even better, you can get the pre-packaged Ghiradelli squares which you can take to work as dessert too.

When those times come at night especially when I just want to eat, eat bad stuff, and a lot of it, I have a bit of something, wait and drink some water, a little bit more and repeat. And when its just time to stop eating, I brush my teeth and/or put on some lip gloss. Sephora has new glosses with FUZE juice flavors that are supposed to curb appetite. I haven’t noticed a huge difference, but I sure feel like eating less when I’m wearing gloss at all. Burt’s Bee’s lip balm has minty oils that give you that teeth-brushed feeling and signals time to quit the binge. So I keep those very handy. And my lips are very healthy! Just drinking more water will make your skin look and feel better. When I need SPF for the glacier, I love Juice Beauty’s 3-pack of tinted lip moisturizers, which smell like popsicles and are around $15. From Sephora of course.

Today, I did 40 minutes of Pilates and then only got through about 30 minutes of Plyo, but I feel great now. Nearing my limit during Plyo, I got that sick, hot feeling you get when the gym teacher made you run too far. But it was nice to feel again. I just took it easy cooling down a few minutes and then had some water. I feel so loose after Pilates. I tried my old favorite yoga video the other day, but didn’t get all the way through. But I remember when I first started it before that it only takes a few days to get back into it. So I’ll keep at it. I just need some handweights to start on my arms. So far, I’m just working up to more push-ups.

If I do end up doing the cleanse, I’ll keep you posted. I made the drink today in my thermos, and I think it will be great for sipping through the day. I used less maple syrup because I’m still eating food- don’t want to add too many calories. There are so many reviews on the web, good and bad. I want to see for myself. 🙂 We’ll see! Bye for now.

 

Leave a Reply

